Kenneth Bloom, Honoree

Kenneth Bloom is a senior client partner at Korn Ferry where he leads the Logistics, Distribution, and Transportation, and Infrastructure and Construction practices. Ken works for clients who believe that leadership makes the difference, helping them realize their full potential, and he also serves as a member of the Private Equity practice for the firm’s New York office.

Prior to joining Korn Ferry, Ken was the Chief Executive Officer of INTTRA, the world’s first and still largest online web portal for managing ocean freight. Known as the ‘Father of Digitalization’ in this field, Ken transformed the industry to make it ‘internet-ready’ for the 21st century. He was awarded the industry’s most prestigious recognition, the Connie Award in 2008. Ken also served at Stolt-Nielsen, the world’s largest chemical tanker operator, after starting his career at Bain & Company, and currently serves on the boards of H.J. Baker in Shelton, CT, and Intermarine in Houston, TX.

Ken and his wife of 22 years, Abby, live in Greenwich, CT, and are the proud parents of Phoebe Bloom (modern dancer and Williams College, 2020) and Lily Bloom (cellist and Greenwich Academy, 2018).

The Fund for New Work

The Beau Gage and Glenn Ousterhout Fund for New Work was instituted this season with a generous bequest from long-time Board member Beau Gage. Beau and her husband Glenn, who preceded her on the Board, demonstrated their deep commitment to the Company and its creation of new work with years of service. The Company honors their generous gift by establishing a Fund that will support the development of new choreography well into the future. The Gala program will feature the Fund’s first commission, Lucinda Childs’ Histoire.

Photo © NYC Dance Project

Lar Lubovitch, Martha Graham Award Recipient

Lar Lubovitch began his dance education at Juilliard in NYC in 1962 where his teachers were Martha Graham, José Limón, Antony Tudor and Donald McKayle.

One of America’s most versatile, popular, and highly acclaimed choreographers, Lubovitch founded the Lar Lubovitch Dance Company in 1968. Over the past 50 years it has gained an international reputation as one of America’s top dance companies. The Company has created more than 110 new dances and performed throughout the United States and more than 40 other countries. His works have also been performed by many other major dance companies, including both ballet (ABT, San Francisco, Paris Opera, Royal Danish, New York City) and contemporary companies (Alvin Ailey and Martha Graham).

He is the recipient of numerous awards. Among the most recent: 2011, Dance/USA Honors Award; 2013, American Dance Guild; 2014 honorary doctorate from Juilliard; and 2016, both Scripps/American Dance Festival Award and Dance Magazine Award. He was appointed a Distinguished Professor of Dance at UC Irvine, also in 2016. Since then, he has conducted 10 weeks of activities there each year, together with his Company’s dancers.

The Martha Graham Award

The Company is pleased to present Lar Lubovitch, one of the most outstanding choreographers of our time, with the prestigious Martha Graham Award. The Award is given to individuals who have made a significant and lasting impact on the field of dance. Past recipients include such luminaries as Betty Ford, Halston, and Alice Tully. Mr. Lubovitch is the first choreographer to receive the Award and we are delighted to celebrate him as he marks the 50th Anniversary of the Lar Lubovitch Dance Company at the Joyce Theater, April 17-22.

Gala Committee

Choreographer Hosts
Kate and Jeff Baum
Kenneth Bloom and Abby Meiselman
Judith G. Schlosser
Inger K. Witter
Leigh A. Weaver

Dancer Hosts
Amy Blumenthal
Barbara Cohen
Richard Hayes and Peggy Lyman Hayes
Chris Jones and Deb McAlister
Barbara Kirk
Jayne Millard and Gilman Perkins

Lee L. Traub

LaRue and Archibald Allen
Barbara and Allen Applbaum
Neila Fortino
Liz Gerring and Kirk Radke
Inga Golay
Sandra Harris
Christopher Herrmann and Joseph Lorino
Christine Jowers and Robert Friedman
Denis McInerney
Lorraine Oler
Deborah Ory and Ken Browar
Donald J. Rose, M.D. and Victoria Lasdon Rose
Hooman Yazhari


Contact the Gala office at 212.229.9200 x 25